top of page

The Sorority

Zeta Phi Beta Sorority was founded January 16, 1920 on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C. by five coeds: Arizona Cleaver Stemons, Pearl Anna Neal, Myrtle Tyler Faithful, Viola Tyler Goings, and Fannie Pettie Watts. These women dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for Black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood. The trail blazed by the Founders has been traversed by thousands of women dedicated to the emulation of the objectives and ideals of the Sorority.


The sorority was the first Greek-letter organization to charter a chapter in Africa (1948); to form adult and youth auxiliary groups, the Amicae (1948), Archonettes (1950s), Amicettes (1950s), and Pearlettes (1974); and to be constitutionally bound to a brother group, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated. 

Zeta's national and local programs include endowment of its National Educational Foundation; community outreach services; and support of multiple affiliate organizations. Zeta chapters and auxiliary groups have given untotaled hours of voluntary service to educate the public, assist youth, provide scholarships, support organized charities and promote legislation for social and civic change. 


The current 26th International President of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. is Stacie N.C. Grant.


For more information about the sorority, please visit our international website

bottom of page